The Song of the Soul

I began playing the violin when I was just three years old. I remember looking at the instrument

A picture around the time I began to learn the Violin

A picture around the time I began learning the Violin.

thinking how beautiful it was and how uniquely it had been crafted. That moment of a violin in hand has continued on all these years later and I am still absolutely awestruck about this beautiful instrument. My love of music continues and encompasses various other instruments including my voice.

You may have heard the description that ‘music is the universal language?’ I believe it is. Music has the capacity to unlock worlds within us and speak sometimes when words fail.

For me, music and in particular singing is my default. When I am happy I sing and sad I sing. Maybe not always out loud with the words but certainly in my heart. The Bible is my guidebook and also my song book (and I love that). It is this incredible thing called music that allows me to grow deeper in my relationship with God. You may be different and worship God in others ways and that is awesome! For the remainder of this posting I am going to discuss why I worship and praise in the form of song/music, explore why it is important to me and how it has strengthened my relationship with my heavenly father.

 

I sing because the Bible says so.

“Worship the Lord with gladness. Come before him, singing with joy” (Psalm 100:2).
Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord” (Ephesians 5:19)

This means that I will sing, play or listen to whatever is on my heart and allow the phrases from various songs and scripture to soften my attitude around certain circumstances. I find that this is my way of expressing my thanks to God for going before me in everything and for sending His son Jesus to pave the way for us to live a fulfilling life.

 

I sing because he is faithful in everything.

“God is faithful, and He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

As my previous post mentioned, God gives us seasons in our lives for reasons. Sometimes they do not make sense to us and that’s ok. Singing of His goodness and His provision brings me strength and enables me to keep walking, even when it feels more than I can bear. He has been faithful in the past and I know He will be faithful in the future. He promises us that. #greatisthyfaithfulness

 

I sing because He gives me peace.

“God makes His people strong.  God gives His people peace.” (Psalm 29:11)

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27)

“For God is not the author of confusion but of peace” (1 Corinthians 14:33)

Whenever I am feeling anxious or upset about something that has happened or happening in my life, singing about His protection, knowing God will never leave me or forsake me, knowing He gives me strength to keep going and that He declares me not to worry are enough for me to trust Him.

 

I sing because I am filled with joy.

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy” (Psalm 16:11)

This is the equation faith + peace = joy.

However you worship God, this is my encouragement for you. Keep reminding yourself that He is for you and not against you. Keep believing great things are coming! Remember that God is faithful always. Keep choosing Him even when it doesn’t make sense (this is hard) and know that faith produces peace which gives you joy.

God is our path to joy and who doesn’t want to be happy?

Have a great weekend.

Blessings,

Madeline x


Ps check out this song by Bryan and Katie Torwalt ‘I breathe you in, God’ especially at 3:05

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_G0gVR7Ldu0

Leave a comment